Parkland School Board Adds New Member, Re-elects President

New school board member Jef Reyburn is sworn into office, along with incumbents Lisa Adams, Robert Bold, David Kennedy and Roberta Marcus.

The School Board re-elected Jayne Bartlett as its president and Robert Cohen as its vice president during a reorganization meeting Tuesday night.

Also, Jef Reyburn, to the board in the November general election, and four incumbent board members who were re-elected were sworn into office.

Reyburn, a Republican and a political newcomer, won a fifth spot on the school board, defeating incumbent Debra Y. Evans.

Board members congratulated Reyburn on his election.

“It is always really positive to have a new perspective, especially one with young children in our school district,” Bartlett said.

The four incumbent board members who were re-elected had cross-filed: Lisa Adams, Robert Bold, David Kennedy and Roberta Marcus.

The votes taken by the school board Tuesday to re-elect Bartlett as president and Cohen as vice president were unanimous.

Bartlett reminded the board that at this time last year, former Superintendent had announced her retirement. Now, she said, Superintendent has been in his position for five months.

Sniscak, Assistant Superintendent and their fellow administrators “continue to meet and exceed expectations,” Bartlett said.

Parkland serves more than 9,000 students who “deserve a quality Parkland education,” Bartlett said. “Let’s do everything we possibly can to give that to them and let’s get to work.”


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »