.

Tell Us: Is 'Gun Appreciation Day' a Good Idea?

"On 01/19/13 go to your local gun store, gun range or gun show with your Constitution, American flags and your 'Hands Off My Guns' sign to send a loud and clear message to Congress and President Barack Obama," says coalition website.

A conservative group is hoping that tens of thousands turn out to show their support for gun ownership with their pocketbooks and picket signs the day before President Barack Obama is sworn in for a second term.

The group, a coalition brought together for the event, declared Jan. 19 "Gun Appreciation Day." The hope is Americans nationwide will show their support for gun ownership by turning out en masse at gun stores, ranges and shows from coast to coast.

Will you participate? Tell us in the comments section below.

“The Obama administration has shown that it is more than willing to trample the Constitution to impose its dictates upon the American people,” said Gun Appreciation Day chairman Larry Ward in a press release. 

The day comes as the gun control debate becomes more divisive. This past week, two PA lawmakers released statements about sponsoring legislation that would allow teachers to carry guns in schools, in response to December's mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary in Newtown, CT.

In the past year, several high-profile mass shootings -- including one in a Colorado movie theater and one at a Wisconsin Sikh Temple -- sparked the gun control debate. According to a New York Times article, Obama called for Vice President Joe Biden to head a gun control task force. 

The "Appreciation Day" is modeled after this past summer's " the answer to a boycott of the fast food chain after CEO Dan Cathy declared his support of what he termed "traditional marriage." According to ABC News, Chick-Fil-A posted record-setting sales during the "Appreciation Day."

Gun Appreciation Day is scheduled the day before Obama's second inauguration. 

The planned event currently includes the following coalition members:

  • Second Amendment Foundation
  • Citizens Committee for the Right to Keep and Bear Arms
  • Special Operations Speaks
  • Revolution PAC
  • Citizens and Country
  • Social Security Institute
  • Committee to Draft Judge Andrew Napolitano
  • Conservative Action Alerts
  • Women Warriors PAC
  • Conservative Action Fund
  • Political Media, Inc.
sherry January 12, 2013 at 08:23 PM
I believe in the 2nd amendment and the right of citizens to protect themselves. I do not support banning weapons to most individuals (Yes background check should be thorough). There are so many "assault" type weapons out there now--what do we do with them? Even if, law-abiding citizens did turn them in, you can be sure that criminals will be holding onto theirs. How do you protect yourself then? You can't. In the end I'd have to say that GUNS don't kill people, BAD MOTIVES of said people holding those guns do. In the Sandy Hook situation the mother should have removed the guns as soon as she even thought her son wasn't mentally stable. For both her safety and his and unfortunately to everyone else that was affected by this tragedy. JMHO
Andy Novick January 12, 2013 at 08:36 PM
What can Easton Do for Gun Control Laws? Live Radio show tonight at 7 pmCall in to speak with the host (718) 508-9465 http://www.blogtalkradio.com/theaudioblog/2013/01/13/what-can-easton-do-for-gun-control-laws
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. January 12, 2013 at 08:56 PM
Don't look at me, Joe...A scary machine gun loving man by the name of James Yeager just put up a You Tube video of him acting like an unhinged gun nut celebrating the so-called Gun Day...You can shoot your gun anyway you want, in the air, into a wall, wherever...It is not a perception...It's all there for all to see...So now, you'd wish an azzhole would come to my house because he does not like my politics as a lesson...Now you are scaring me because this could be you threatening my "political persuasion"...But bring 'em on...Make sure you get away with it because there is a penalty for premeditated homicide and that would be lethal injection...Your name would be emblazoned in the media as a murderer...If that makes you and your family happy, be my guest...I have nothing to lose...I am in my twilight of my life, accomplished my purposes on earth as a good citizen and a family man...I just happen not to like guns unlike many of you who have been brainwashed by the NRA and its corporations...BE VERY AFRAID...BAD GUYS ARE COMING AFTER YOU...THE GOVERNMENT IS GOING TO GET YOUR GUNS...Meanwhile this outfit and the gun makers are getting rich because of this...You don't like the government, then we would be living in anarchy...Do you know what that is like? Everyone is on his own...There will be lawlessness, guns blazing, terrorism, countries coming to our shores with their bazookas/nuclear weapons.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. January 12, 2013 at 09:17 PM
Continued from previous reply to Joe: We come here to post opinions...We agree to disagree...My opinions get labelled as Elitist Progressive Liberals...I accept that...It hasn't been illegal yet, I think...But please, no threats of assassination...That's so cowardly and bordering insanity...Let's debate, civilly, if you can...Otherwise, go fly a kite. As for your right to own a gun, keep it if it makes you feel safer...No one is taking it from you...Besides you can use it to kill me...But honestly, do you need to use an assault weapon to do me in? Many people claim to be responsible owners, but occasionally some of them crack up and do nasty things with them...I can only hope all "responsible owners" stay calm and be true to form. This is all I can say in this unfortunate discussion.
Joe Sommers January 12, 2013 at 09:25 PM
Willy Boy...Here some news. Nothing will change with the 2nd amendment . There will be no futher gun control .Assault weapons will still be around and no ban will get enacted ...WHY? Because smarter men than you and I created the Bill of Rights and our constitution over 237 years ago and they realized that the idividual has the right to bear arms to protect oneself from an oppressive government. Watch what happens if Barrack Hussein Obama tries to push yet another executive oreder down the throats of the House and Congress for a Ban...There will be millions marching on the White House. So...keep screaming your liberal poison if that makes you feel good. Your pissing in the wind pal.
Andy Novick January 12, 2013 at 09:32 PM
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/theaudioblog/2013/01/13/what-can-easton-do-for-gun-control-laws
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. January 12, 2013 at 09:38 PM
Get a grip, Joe...Sit back and watch the media...The items for gun control program are not available until Tuesday...Then the good people will talk about it...Let us not prejudge the outcome...Who knows, something good might still come out of it, maybe not, but until then, hold your pants, sir. Here you go again with your oppressive government...A million of you will be marching to the White House if they don't like the results...Don't forget about the other 2 million marchers who approve (I hope we are just marching and not shooting at each other...I would be bringing a gun then...That would be messy, wouldn't it).
Michael January 13, 2013 at 01:43 PM
The problem, though, is that this discussion is almost always started with an "answer" in mind. Feinstein had her new assault weapons bill written a year ago, not right after Sandy Hook. She was waiting for the appropriate tragedy to push her legislation. Gun owners are willing to have a conversation, but so far, every single "answer" has been proven in the past to do nothing to reduce gun violence. Nothing. Zip. Nada. It is the zealotry of the gun-control advocate that turns reasonable-minded gun owners from even listening. Just like a broken record, we get tired of hearing the same solutions that won't do anything.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. January 13, 2013 at 02:51 PM
Us gun control zealots just have to press on this ugly gun culture where the killing machine is the answer to our peaceful existence...Obviously, assault weapons do not belong in the streets...The mass killings appear to occur more often in the past decade and they have got to stop...All we are asking is for sensible gun ownership...Sportsment should be content with regular rifles for their amusement...No need to have huge capacity clips to disable the prey...Responsible gun owners, likewise, do not need fancy, rapid fire contraption to scare/kill an intruder...Yes, we have to keep trying until everyone listens...This is Democracy after all and this must be debated till pigs fly...We must attempt to make it work, if not for the innocent adults sake, then for our precious children...I will be here until this is resolved.
Just the Facts January 13, 2013 at 04:46 PM
Why is it that the same liberal democrats who care so much about 20 kids being killed don't seem to care about the more than 66,000,000 babies killed in the last 40 years due to their support of legalized abortion? 96% of women who had abortions gave as their reason; “It would be inconvenient to have a baby at this time”. By the way, “assault rifles” are fully automatic military rifles that have been essentially unavailable to civilians since 1934.
Christine Jackman January 13, 2013 at 05:20 PM
mark wood: I form my opinions by my observation and listening and life events. I'm old enough to remember the title of a childhood show I watch, Cecil the Sea-Sick Serpent, but I can't remember one story. I do remember watching on our small black&white TV the police, with hoses and dogs, preventing little black children entering schools as mandated by the Supreme Court as constitutional. Our country has a said history of brutally preventing the rights to an equal education and voting rights. There is a segment of our nation that refuses to accept the fact that President Obama, with a majority of popular votes, won the election twice. The NRA stirred the pot of hate with their campaign started back in 2008 that the black man was going to go after guns. It was profitable for the NRA and the gun and ammo manufacturers.
Christine Jackman January 13, 2013 at 05:41 PM
gail ernst: It's not just "liberal democrats" that believe that women have the right to make their own decisions regarding their reproductive rights. The decisions that women make are between her and her doctor. Not you. The decision to finally do something to curb gun violence is a concern of not just "liberal democrats". The decision to find a solution to keep guns out of the hands of mentally unstable violent people is shared by others beside "liberal democrats".
mark wood January 13, 2013 at 07:28 PM
only 2 ways to persuede people, 1. Reason, which the mentality disconnected don't have, or 2. Force, , which the reasonable will use to end any situation that turns lethal by the foresaid. Who's equal education do you speak, the gov't sponsored NEA, or the SEIU,? We pay with our taxes to dumb down the current school children, we can't teach writing skills, i.e. cursive, we teach a flawed multi-culture value as if it is the norm, there is to be no reason with the unreasonable, it always there way or your some loser name we make up to toss at you.... when the nite of the chrystal come to bear, all eyes will be open...... p.s. not a gun owner, cost toooo much. and I am getting to old to really care if Social Security or any other gov't program go bust.....and they scare the heck out of me....
Just the Facts January 13, 2013 at 09:08 PM
Jackman you didn’t answer the question. Why is it bad to kill 20 when it is not bad to kill more than 66,000,000?
Christine Jackman January 13, 2013 at 10:01 PM
I did answer the question. I'll answer it again. In my opinion the decision for a woman to have a legal abortion is between her and her doctor. The same is true for her decision to use contraceptives or seek infertility treatment. Women have a right to control their reproductive decisions. Since you asked about the subject on Jan. 3, 2013, the Republican Congress again introduced their Sanctity of Human Life Act. It would give legal rights to a zygote. Responsible people want weapons out of the hands of dangerous mentally unstable people. Responsible people want to see if there are solutions to solve gun violence. I'm not certain if responsible people are concerned about the legal rights of zygotes or abortion decisions made by women.. Congress should be working on the financial problems facing the nation. They should let women be responsible for her zygotes. In my opinion the Republican Congress is wasting their time on an act that would give legal rights to a zygote.
jack harris January 13, 2013 at 11:39 PM
when seconds count, the police are minutes away. the decision for a legal abortion is between a woman and her doctor and GOD.
Chris Miller January 14, 2013 at 12:07 AM
Wilfredo still sounding stupid and putting your ignorance on display. Keep a couple of thngs in mind. When you have a gun in your hand you call it a gun. All guns are guns and not weapons because a thing like a chair can be a weapon or take the biggest weapon one can have, a car. As for so called ASSUALT RIFLES, they are rifles and like all guns they are inanimate objects. In order for and assualt to occur movement must happen. ASSUALT RIFLEs DO NOT MOVE OF THEIR ON ACCORd. If you are going to become engaged in conversation learn the language of the topic being discussed.
Chris Miller January 14, 2013 at 12:13 AM
Wilfredo You just keep getting dumber and dumber. I think we should make you drive a 1953 VW. I think that liberals like you should only be allowed to have one piece of toast for breakfast. I think you should never be allowed to eat steak. I could go on forever but maybe you and your fellow anti-Constitution friends will pick up on it.
Christine Jackman January 14, 2013 at 02:40 AM
mark wood: Why do you use "anti constitution crowd"? The Assult Weapon Ban of 1994 was the law of the land for ten years. Congress didn't vote to extend it and it expired. During the 10 years there were no challenges brought to the United Supreme Court to declare it unconstitutional and have it overturned. The NRA didn't take legal action against the ban. "your Clinton guy"? along with former President Reagan, Ford and Carter endorsed the Ban in 1994. President Reagan played an important part in getting the bill passed by Congress.
Lee January 14, 2013 at 08:12 AM
In United States v. Miller, 307 U.S. 174 (1939), the Court avoided determining whether a short barrel shotgun may be taxed under the National Firearms Act consistent with the Second Amendment, as no evidence in the record addressed whether such a shotgun was, or was not, an ordinary militia arm. The Supreme Court remanded the case for fact-finding based on the following: In the absence of any evidence tending to show that possession or use of a "shotgun having a barrel of less than eighteen inches in length" at this time has some reasonable relationship to the preservation or efficiency of a well regulated militia, we cannot say that the Second Amendment guarantees the right to keep and bear such an instrument. Certainly it is not within judicial notice that this weapon is any part of the ordinary military equipment or that its use could contribute to the common defense. Aymette v. State, 2 Hump. 154, 158. 307 U.S. at 178 (emphasis added).The Miller court did not suggest that the possessor must be a member of the militia or National Guard, asking only whether the arm could have militia use. The individual character of the right protected by the Second Amendment went unquestioned.Referring to the militia clause of the Constitution, the Supreme Court stated that "to assure the continuation and render possible the effectiveness of such forces the declaration and guarantee of the Second Amendment were made." 307 U.S. at 178. .
Lee January 14, 2013 at 08:15 AM
In 1989, the State of California banned rifles with military model designations, and declared an intent to allow firearms for sporting use only. California Penal Code paragraph 12275.5, 12276. Such models as are semiautomatic rifles pass the Miller test because they are appropriate for militia use, even though the Armed Forces only use fully automatic machineguns.The use of these rifles in the federal Civilian Marksmanship Program demonstrates their suitability for militia purposes. Tanks, rockets, and nuclear weapons are not protected by the Second Amendment. The Second Amendment protects only arms which one may "keep" and "bear." "The term 'arms' as used by the drafters of the constitutions probably was intended to include those weapons used by settlers for both personal and military defense... The term 'arms' would not have included cannons nor other heavy ordnance not kept by militiamen or private citizens." State v. Kessler, 289 Or. 359, 368, 614 P.2d 94, 98 (1980). Semiautomatic firearms have been held as constitutionally guaranteed "arms" under state provisions which were derived from the Second Amendment. I'll keep my AR and my mags, Thank you courts!
Robert Trotner January 14, 2013 at 04:00 PM
The Lehigh Valley Coffee Party thinks it is a grossly unseemly affair and we should find more effective venues for demonstrations like these than gun shows, where a crimina, a felon, a person adjudicated a threat to himself and others, other equally undesirable persons can buy a gun with impunity. Below is an unbelievably ironic and twisted rationale for unlimited gun proliferation to any and all comers: "I think Martin Luther King would agree with me, if he were alive today, that if African Americans had been given the right to keep and bear arms from day one of the country’s founding, perhaps slavery might not have been a chapter in our history. And I believe wholeheartedly that it’s essential to liberty.” —"Gun Appreciation Day" chairman Larry Ward, in a CNN interview
Christine Jackman January 14, 2013 at 09:17 PM
Lee: you did lots of cut and paste but I doubt you understand the final conclusion by the United States Supreme Court. I think it wouldn't manner to you if restrictions on weapons were constitutional or unconstitutional.
Chris Miller January 14, 2013 at 09:23 PM
Mr. Larry ward has made a great and correct point on the matter.
Rich Cranium January 14, 2013 at 10:02 PM
Hmm weird every gun show I have ever gone to required the same background checks as every other place that I have bought a gun. Maybe I am just ignorant as to what happens in gun shows even though I have been to them and bought guns at them.
Jenn January 15, 2013 at 01:33 PM
Pro choice supporters always claim that without abortion rights woman will need to go back to the allies and get their abortions in an unsafe manner (also it would be illegal), But that wouldn't stop them. So what makes liberals think that just because certain guns are "illegal" that people who want them won't be able to obtain them? You are such liberal fools living in your unicorn world. Chicago has the strictest gun laws...enough said! One more point...you can't fix stupid! That mother was an idiot. There is no law that will protect us from that.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. January 18, 2013 at 11:50 AM
This guy offered a mea culpa on that YouTube video he posted recently...It's a good thing no one got hurt during his rant, otherwise, being sorry would have been too late.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. January 18, 2013 at 12:02 PM
What is not to like with the proposals presented by the president?..Nothing on there that said "surrender your guns", just assault weapons...Those rapid fire shooters have no use in our defense of our castles...These proposals will work only if the rational public join the campaign and supported by our law enforcement agents.
mark wood January 18, 2013 at 05:55 PM
Useful idiots abound, sheeple who will not complain until the brown shirts come for them, but when they complain, his neighbors have all been quietly disposed of as well as his friends and family, alas he is alone, complain to no one. No one to hear......enjoy the utopia you have made for yourself.....I will enjoy mine.
melissa d January 20, 2013 at 12:22 AM
Five people shot at three different gun shows across the nation today on "National Gun Appreciation Day." ... Wow. There are no words... http://thinkprogress.org/justice/2013/01/19/1473881/two-people-accidentally-shot-at-a-gun-show-safety-checkpoint-on-gun-appreciation-day/?mobile=wp

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something